Download 2020 winners of the inaugural edition Press release.

Andrew Berends Photos Here


CONTACT Andrew Berends Film Fellowship Board, info at andrewberends dot net


In these challenging times The Andrew Berends Film Fellowship is pleased to announce the winners of its inaugural Fellowship.
A total of $20,000, personal mentorships with leading filmmakers Gary Hustwit, David Sampliner and Gretchen Hildebran , and other opportunities for career and project advancement are presented
Braulio Jatar and Anaïs Michel for their moving depiction of Venezuelan refugees
trying to rebuild their lives in Cùcuta (working title);
Angelos Rallis for his heart-rending portrait of an orphaned girl in Bangladesh searching
for her birth father in Mighty Afrin (working title);
Tom Laffay for his stirring work about the identity and spirituality of the Siona
indigenous people in Colombia in Tigre Eléctrico (working title).
The Fellowship Board is proud to support these brave and ambitious filmmakers, to help them move their projects forward in a time of much uncertainty, and to see Andrew Berends’ legacy embodied in their work. Additional information about the Fellows and their films can be found in the full press release.
The Andrew Berends Film Fellowship would like to thank all of our generous donors, both
individuals and foundations, as well as our friends at IFP, VICE, D-Word, Pure Non-Fiction and the Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship. Special thanks to Fellowship Board members Aaron Soffin, Michiel Pilgram, Brenden Hussey, Maria Ibrahimova, and Jason Gardner.
For those interested in applying to the 2021 Fellowship, the application will be released in Fall 2020. As the Fellowship Board begins to plan for next year’s Fellowship,
contributions can be made through its fiscal sponsor IFP.